These are the five SMUN committees, clicking in the logo of your committee will show your chairs. CDC and Press Corps  have their own pages. The 18 countries participating in this year in SMUN are going to be:
• The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela;
• The Democratic People’s Republic of North Korea;
• Federal Republic of Germany;
• Federative Republic of Brazil;
• Federal Republic of Nigeria;
• French Republic (‘Ghost Delegation’);
• Islamic Republic of Iran;
• Islamic Republic of Pakistan;
• Malaysia;
• People’s Democratic Republic Republic of Algeria;
• People’s Republic of China;
• Republic of India;
• Republic of Korea;
• Russian Federation;
• State of Israel (‘Ghost Delegation’);
• State of Japan;
• United Kingdom;
• United States of America;

Security Council


The Security Council (SC) is charged with maintaining international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the UN. It takes the lead in determining the threat to peace or act of violence. The Security Council may even impose sanctions or authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security. The SC is composed of five permanent members and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms. The SC is capable of directing the use of economic sanctions and military force.





the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is composed of 54 member-states and consists of a large number of commissions, agencies, and other bodies. It serves as the central forum for the discussion of international economic and social issues. Charged with promoting respect for and observance of human rights and fundamental freedoms, ECOSOC can conduct studies, make policy recommendations, call international conferences, consult with non-governmental organizations, and prepare draft conventions the GA. ECOSOC coordinates specialized agencies such as the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Bank Group and its agencies such as the International Financial Corporation.


Word Health Organization


The WHO is the United Nations’ specialised agency responsible for ensuring human health and improving the quality of life around the globe. The idea of creating a global health organ was first debated during the creation of the United Nations itself in 1945, but the agency was only officialized through its constitution on April 7th 1948, date that is now celebrated as World Health Day. The WHO is composed of more that 7000 working people in 150 different country offices, 6 regional officers and in the WHO’s headquarters in Geneva.

By dealing with disease combat, mother & child assistance during labor and following years, hunger, medicines and vaccines, among other issues, this agency seeks to improve quality of life and health worldwide. The WHO, however, cannot accomplish such targets with no assistance; therefore, contribution from governments, policy makers, global health partners, the civil society and other partners is of extreme importance concerning human health. In order to address health care globally with efficiency and proper attention, the WHO divides itself into six main areas of work health systems, promoting health through the life-course, noncommunicable diseases, communicable diseases, corporate services and preparedness.


Food and Agriculture Organization

FAO is a specialised agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. It helps developing countries and countries in transition to modernize and improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices, ensuring good nutrition and food security for all.

It is formed by 194 member states; the agency is directed by the Conference of Member Nations, which meets every two years to review the work carried out by the organization and to set the budget for the next two-year period. The Conference elects a council of 49 member states (serve three-year rotating terms) that acts as an interim governing body, and the Director-General, that heads the agency (current Director-General: José Graziano da Silva, Brazillian).

In total, it is composed of six departments: Agriculture and Consumer Protection, Economic and Social Development, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Forestry, Corporate Services and Technical Cooperation and Programme Management.

Their three main goals are:

     the eradication of hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition;

     the elimination of poverty and the driving forward of economic and social progress for all;

     the sustainable management and utilization of natural resources, including land, water, air, climate and genetic resources for the benefit of present and future generations.




Internacional Finance Corporation

IFC is a member of the World Bank Group and it is the largest global development institution focused on the private sector in developing countries. IFC was founded in 1956, and as of 2017, the IFC is owned by 184 member countries.

In 1956, a few dozen countries made a calculated bet on the transformative potential of the private sector in developing countries and put up $100 million in capital and established IFC. Six decades later, IFC have delivered nearly $250 billion in financing to businesses in emerging markets.

In addition to its investment activities the IFC provides a range of advisory services to support corporate decision making regarding business, environment, social impact, and sustainability. The IFC attempts to guide businesses toward more sustainable practices particularly with regards to having good governance, supporting women in business, and proactively combating climate change.